Safety Working Group


The Safety Working Group (SWG) is chartered to assist member companies in attaining and maintaining the highest levels of safety and regulatory performance in the operation of DOE/NNSA facilities/projects. The SWG achieves this by:

  • Seeking out, developing, and promoting best management and operating practices
  • Facilitating the exchange of operating experiences and information on safety/regulatory programs and their effectiveness, as well as designing studies and developing position and technical papers to inform DOE/NNSA regulations and directives processes where appropriate
  • Providing DOE/NNSA and member companies with access to a network of subject matter experts
  • Identifying opportunities to save and/or avoid costs in the implementation of their safety and regulatory programs
  • Assisting member companies in implementing effective safety and regulatory programs through peer reviews and consultations
  • Arranging for training and awareness workshops to enhance the competency of safety professionals

Upcoming Events

2023 EFCOG Nuclear & Facility Safety Annual Workshop will take place at on 03/13/2023 - 03/17/2023 at All Day



  • Jan Preston, Chair (Fluor Federal Services)
  • William (Bill) Mairson (LANL Triad)
  • Frances Alston, Secretary (BWXT)

EFCOG Sponsoring Directors

  • Jack Craig, Jr. (ATKINS)
  • Mark Whitney (Amentum)

DOE Liaison

  • Garrett Smith (DOE AU-30)

Contact our team via the contact form below. Looking for the SWG SME POC list? Please request a copy via the form below.

Subgroups and Leadership

Engineering Practices Subgroup 

Integrated Safety Management Subgroup
Nuclear & Facility Safety Subgroup
Quality Assurance Subgroup

Regulatory & Enforcement Subgroup
Sustainability & Environment Subgroup
Worker Safety & Health Subgroup


Contact our Team: