ENERGY FACILITY CONTRACTORS GROUP (EFCOG) SAFETY WORKING GROUP WORKER SAFETY & HEALTH SUBGROUP HRP DESIGNATED PSYCHOLOGISTS' TASK TEAM

CHARTER - AUGUST 2021

I. PURPOSE

The purpose of the HRP Designated Psychologists' Task Team (DPTT) is to promote best practices among Designated Psychologists working in the Department of Energy (DOE)/National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) nuclear weapons sites. The DPTT will gather, evaluate, develop, and share performance measures, best management practices, and lessons learned consistent with the principles and functions of Designated Psychologists as set forth in 10 CFR 712.

II. OBJECTIVES

The primary objectives of the DPTT include:

- A. Promote, coordinate, and facilitate the active exchange of information, practices, procedures, lessons learned, and tools that ensure ethical, consistent, high-quality psychological evaluative processes at HRP sites across the DOE enterprise.
- B. Evaluate and/or recommend continuous improvements to member programs and identify and assess impacts of new and emerging technologies, tools, and practices by which to fulfill HRP program requirements.
- C. Coordinate with other EFCOG Working Groups, Sub Groups, and Task Teams on issues of common interest.
- D. Promote cooperation and exchange information, as appropriate, within EFCOG and with other entities that have similar interests (e.g., Insider Threat Working Group(s), Employee Assistance Programs), while minimizing duplication of efforts.
- E. Foster professional and technical development, mentoring, and leadership opportunities among participating members.
- F. Organize and conduct annual training for HRP Designated Psychologists.

These objectives are accomplished through informal exchanges, collaborative tasks and projects, scheduled conference calls, workshops, presentations, web conferences, benchmarking, and authoring of relevant work products. Members may be asked to author, review, and otherwise contribute their expertise to the development of DOE technical standards and related guidance.

III. SCOPE

- A. The DPTT will operate as a subgroup of the Safety Working Group, under the Worker Safety & Health Subgroup.
- B. The focus of our efforts will include the development and standardization of best practices among the DOE/NNSA HRP sites. This will be accomplished through quarterly meetings of the HRP Designated Psychologists, through an annual

- training opportunity open to all HRP Designated Psychologists and other stakeholders, and through various ad hoc working groups.
- C. The Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Lead Psychologists at member sites will participate in strategic planning efforts pertinent to the DPTT.
- D. The DPTT will keep the Safety Working Group and the Worker Safety & Health Subgroup Chairs appraised of activities and progress.
- E. The DPTT will not lobby, advocate independent positions, or try to change policy. When requested the DPTT will provide input relative to policy developments at DOE and/or NNSA. However, based on the professional expertise of DPTT members, the group may have cause to advise federal management regarding relevant developments in psychological practice thought to impact policy or practices (e.g., position statements, guidance, recommendations)

IV. ORGANIZATION & PROCESSES

The DPTT Leadership Committee will consist of the Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary.

- A. Only employees of EFCOG Member Companies, with current EFCOG members, can be members of the DPTT. Other stakeholders will be invited to participate in an advisory capacity.
- B. The DPTT Leadership Committee (Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary) will set the schedule and agenda for the quarterly Designated Psychologists' meeting with input from Lead Psychologists across the DOE/NNSA enterprise.
- C. The Leadership Committee will oversee various ad hoc working group activities (e.g., best practices working group, alcohol-related incidents working group) to ensure timely and effective performance.
- D. Members of the Leadership Committee will be selected by the DPTT writ large to serve two year terms. Typically, the Vice Chair will serve a two-year term and then assume the duties of the Chair for the subsequent two years.
- E. The Chair and Vice Chair will focus on organization, coordination and collaboration between the topic areas, long-term vision and strategy, and integration of the DPTT into the broader Safety Working Group and Worker Safety & Health Subgroup.
- F. The Secretary will be responsible for taking, organizing, distributing, and saving DPTT meeting minutes.
- G. The Leadership Team will track accomplishment of the objectives, progress, and benefits of the DPTT, document activities, and report developments to the Safety Working Group and Worker Safety & Health Subgroup Chairs.
- H. The Safety Working Group Chair, the Worker Safety & Health Subgroup Chair, or the EFCOG Board of Directors may direct changes to this Charter and/or revoke this Charter if it determines that the group is no longer providing a value added service.